So what is the process to get license certified to become a Texas Insurance Adjuster. It can be done in as little as 3 days in a classroom environment. That’s 30 hours in class and then some self study time is completed before class begins. (ten hours is self-study; materials are provided)
Assuming that you pass the final exam, at the end of the 30 hours, the paper work can then go to the state and then you begin the process to get the actual license. That process can take several weeks and it might take up to 6 weeks; it’s just a matter of waiting to get the paperwork approved by the Texas Department of Insurance.
The cost of the license class is less than $500. Now if you want to do some optional training, such as adjuster fundamentals, this is where you learn how to scope losses. (how to spot and assess the damage). Adjuster Fundamentals training goes into more detail than you would get in the licensing class. You might also do some software training. Xactimate software is the industry standard at the moment. Knowing how to use this software will enhance your resume and prepare you for more work opportunities. (see Xactimate training)
One could get started for less than $500 and do the training in 3 days. This is not 3 months, 3 years or anything like that. And no college degree is required, if you have a college degree, that fine, but it’s not required to get your license. You have to pass a background check and pay a license fee to the state.
The Texas adjuster license is reciprocal in over 30 states across the country, so even if you don’t live in Texas, many people will want to have the Texas license because it’s so flexible and opens up a lot of opportunities. HOWEVER, keep in mind that in most cases, you must FIRST obtain a license in your home state first. Always, always check with your state department of insurance to verify current requirements.