Texas Adjuster License Training Options
- (3 days) Texas All-Lines License Training (fri-sat-sun)
- (5 days) Texas All-Lines License Training + Xactimate® Estimating Software Training (fri-tues)
- (7 Days) Pro Adjuster Package: Texas All-Lines License Training + Xactimate Training + Adjuster Fundamentals (fri-thurs)
- License Class Location: 2302 10th Street, Bridgeport, TX 76426 (Comfort Suites Hotel)
New Career…Fast Track
A Texas insurance adjuster license requires no college degree and license training can be completed in as little as 3 days.
The Texas All-Lines adjuster license allows for multiple career options:
- residential property claims
- auto claims
- commercial property claims
- workman’s comp
- inland marine
- (and more)
Table of Contents (click for specific topics)
Texas Adjuster License Training
- Texas All-Lines License Training + Exam
- Optional: Xactimate® Training
- Optional: Adjuster Fundamentals (No Class Scheduled)
- Location: Bridgeport, TX (hotel location to be announced)
TX Adjuster Course Description
Days 1-3: 30 hours Texas All-Lines License Training plus exam
- ethical duties and responsibilities of a licensed claims adjuster
- overview of various policy types, including home and auto
- how to determine/interpret policy coverages
- final exam is included, at the conclusion of Day 3
- 10 hours self-study required, before class begins
The curriculum meets all TX Dept of Insurance requirements; study materials (digital download) and workbooks (in class) are provided.
2 Days: Adjuster fundamentals (optional)
- how to scope losses
- recommended tools and best practices
- overview of construction materials
- taking accurate measurements
- taking photos of the loss
- determining what the policy will cover
- claims management tips
2 Days: Xactimate® Software Training (optional)
- how to create a claims estimate
- introduction to Sketch (graphical estimating)
- how to upload and manage images
- drawing simple and complex roofs
- line-item estimating
- customization of your software
- uploading and managing images
- practical tips and workarounds
The Texas adjuster license is ‘reciprocal’ in 32 states, making it the most versatile license for property claims adjusters.
The Texas adjuster license is commonly required by TPAs (third party administrator companies) as a prerequisite for employment.
It is important to note that ‘reciprocal’ does not mean that a home state license is not required. If you reside in a licensing state, you will need to first acquire your home state’s license; then get the Texas license.
Individuals with a Texas All-Lines Adjuster License may apply for a license in any of the reciprocal states. This is done by providing the appropriate paperwork, meeting the physical requirements (such as minimum age) and paying the required fees.
The benefit of reciprocity is that you do not have to complete a separate training course for each state.
(Back to Top)
Licensing States vs. Non-Licensing States
Those living in non-licensing states (states that do not have licensing requirements for adjusters) may begin with a Texas non-resident license and then immediately benefit from reciprocity.
(Back to Top)
Not sure if your state requires an adjuster license?[expand title=”Click here for State-specific resource links”]
LICENSE AND NON-LICENSE STATES
The following information is believed to be correct ;
HOWEVER, states may change requirements and rules at any time, without our prior knowledge.
PLEASE USE THE STATE GOVERNMENT LINKS BELOW, TO PERSONALLY VERIFY.
(links will open in a new browser window)
RESOURCE FOR NON-LICENSE STATES: The National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) announced in April 2013 that individual Non-Resident Licensing and Renewals are now available in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. ( www.NPIR.com)
Colorado – NON-license state; however Public Adjusters must be licensed. Colorado residents should consider obtaining a non-resident Texas license.
District of Columbia – NON license jurisdiction . DC residents should consider the non-resident Texas All-Lines license.
Illinois – NON license state; however a license is required for Public Adjusters.
Illinois residents who wish to become an independent insurance adjuster should consider the non-resident Texas All-Lines license.
Maryland – NON license state; Public Adjusters require a license. Consider a Texas All-Lines license to begin your career.
Massachusetts – NON license state; however PUBLIC ADJUSTERS must be licensed. Consider a Texas All-Lines license to begin your career.
Missouri – NON license state; Public adjusters must be licensed. Consider a Texas All-Lines license to begin your adjuster career.
Nebraska -NON license state; Public adjusters must be licensed. Consider a Texas All-Lines license to begin your adjuster career.
New Jersey – NON license state. Consider a Texas All-Lines license.
North Dakota – NON license state. Consider a Texas All-Lines License.
Ohio – NON license state. Consider a Texas All-Lines license.
Pennsylvania – NON license state. Public adjusters must be licensed. Consider a Texas All-Lines license.
South Dakota – NON license state. Consider a Texas All-Lines license.
Tennessee – NON license state. Non-license; public adjusters must be licensed. Consider a Texas All-Lines license.
Virginia – NON license state. Consider a Texas All-Lines license.
Wisconsin – NON license state; public adjusters must be licensed. Consider a Texas All-Lines license to begin your career.
About Texas Adjuster Reprocity
“Texas will grant reciprocity in licensing non-resident adjusters. To the best of our knowledge, the following states issue an adjuster license that would allow reciprocal licensing in Texas…”[expand title=”Listing of Reciprocal License States-click to open”] Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho,Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, SouthCarolina, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming.
NOTE: Always verify with your home state! Rules and requirements may change without our knowledge.[/expand]
Frequently Asked Questions
A: No, it is not required that you have a degree to become a licensed Texas All-Lines Adjuster.
Q: “How do I complete the required 40 Hours, in only 3 Days, for the Texas All-Lines License?”
A: Ten hours are completed before the class begins as ‘self-study’. We provide you with an approved self-study manual, which introduces foundational concepts and definitions. Also included are policy examples.
Q: “When And How Do I Take the Final Exam?”
A: You will be tested on the final evening of the class. You must earn a score of 70% or better. If you do not pass the test on the first attempt, you may take it again immediately.
[expand title=”Read more FAQs about becoming an insurance adjuster…(click here)”]
Q: “Do I Get My TX All-Lines License Immediately After Passing the Exam?”
A: No. You must then submit an application to the Texas Department of Insurance, pay the appropriate fees and satisfy the required background check. We will discuss these additional steps in class.
Q: “Will You Help Me Find Employment?”
A: We will provide a current list of adjuster firms that you will want to contact. It is your responsibility to follow up and get on their deployment rosters.
Q: “Is This A Career Option For Both Men And Women?”
A: Absolutely. Both women and men will find many opportunities as an insurance adjuster. The TX All-Lines License prepares you for entry into the insurance claims industry, where you may choose from many specialties: auto adjuster, residential property, commercial property, workmens comp, aviation, inland marine, etc.
Q: “What Skills & Abilities Do I Need To Be an Adjuster?”
However, even without a construction or real estate background, don’t be discouraged. The necessary skills can be learned.
We promise to deliver practical, actionable training that prepares you for claims adjuster opportunities. If you do not have a construction or real estate background, we recommend the full ‘Pro Adjuster training’, which includes both ‘adjuster fundamentals’ and Xactimate® software training.
Q: “How Much Money Can I Earn As A Claims Adjuster?”
A: This is the question that we get most often. And quite honestly, it really depends on many factors. As an independent adjuster, you are paid on a fee bill schedule, per claim, by the TPA company. What this means is that time is money, especially in this business. More production=more income. You are not limited by a pre-determined salary.(Back to Top)[/expand]
“Why Train With Us?”
You will learn from our vast experience in the field exactly what it takes to succeed in this business.
Our instructors are seasoned Texas insurance adjusters, with residential and commercial claims experience. Their real-world experience brings a special perspective to the classroom.
Our core focus is practical application.
Beyond just passing the license exam, you’ll need to know the basics of this business.
Without the proper fundamentals, new adjusters have a high failure rate on their first catastrophe deployment. We’ll make sure you are thoroughly prepared for long-term success in your new adjuster career.
While some larger providers simply don’t have time to care about YOU, our smaller class sizes provide more one-on-one time with the instructors.
Questions? Call 972.837.8621 to speak with Joel.
Meet Your Trainer
Joel Yeatts is a licensed Texas adjuster. He started his independent claims adjuster career in 2005 with Hurricane Wilma, weeks after Hurricane Katrina devastated New Orleans and the Mississippi gulf coast.
Joel has both residential and commercial claims experience; he is level-3 certified on Xactimate® and is passionate about sharing his knowledge and years of claims experience.
More About Our North Texas Adjuster License Class Locations…
Restaurants, shopping, grocery stores and multiple hotels…minutes from the meeting locations
Click to open map: Bridgeport, TX
Still Have Questions? Call 972.837.8621 to speak directly with an instructor.